Slow Cooker Black Beans

I love beans.

There, I said it.  I love them because I find them to be incredibly versatile, quick in a pinch, CHEAP, and just downright delicious.

A love affair with legumes.

This recipe can probably be found anywhere, but I’m fond of my version because-well-I’ve never tried any other.  This recipe results in unbelievably creamy rich beans that would be great tucked inside an Enchilada, stuffed inside a Burrito, or simply eaten with perfectly flavored rice and vegetables.  Best of all, it’s a slower cooker recipe (that does involve minimal prep) which means that you get to ignore it and have your crock pot do all the work.  I personally love coming home to anything that’s been simmering in the crock pot all day.  First, it means half my work for dinner (or all of it) is done, and second, it fills the house with wonderful smells and make me, if only for a second, believe that perhaps someone has decided to cook ME dinner.

In any event, I highly recommend these beans for comfort food that couldn’t really be easier.

Slow Cooker Black Beans

(Makes 2 cups of black beans)

Ingredients:

1 cup dried black beans

1/2 yellow onion, chopped

4 cloves of garlic, chopped

1/2 tbs. cumin

1 tsp salt (or more to taste)

1 tsp dried basil

1/4 tsp. smoked paprika (optional)

1/2 tsp. liquid smoke (optional)

Directions:

Beans require soaking-so put 1 cup of black beans in a bowl and fill up with water until covering the beans for about one inch.  Allow to soak on the counter overnight, or for 8 hours.

Black beans after soaking overnight.

Once your beans have soaked, drain them and throw them into your crockpot.  Add chopped onion, garlic, cumin, salt, basil and optional liquid smoke and/or smoked paprika.

Cover your beans with 2 cups of water and set your slow cooker on low for 8 hours.

In the end, you’ll have creamy dreamy delicious beans!

Beans do not photograph well.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a comment