Spring Has Sprung

Feels like Spring is finally here!  The birds are chirping in the morning, the sun is shining in our windows, and there’s a general feeling of lightness that has been missing for the past several months.

Dan and I have been trying to wake up earlier in the morning, and we’re both in the same place of wanting to change our diets and our health.  We’re getting married in 8 months and we both want to (vainly) look and feel great on our wedding day.  Getting up earlier in the morning is difficult for both of us.  I start work at 9:00 a.m. and live about 6 blocks from work.  I used to constantly oversleep for my old job (probably because I hated it) so waking up late and making a mad dash to get ready is a horrible habit I have.   Dan’s job doesn’t really start until late morning or noon at the earliest, so it’s not like we’re both heading to our cars at 8:00 a.m.  Hence, the constant dance we do snoozing the alarm and puttering around the house when we really should be taking advantage of the early morning.

This morning we were supposed to go for a walk, but ended up laying in bed talking and falling in and out of sleep until 8:00 a.m. (EEP!!!).  The weather looks beautiful so I think we will head out of the house after work and go for a nice long walk before dinner.  I can’t get enough of these beautiful sunny days and cool nights!

Of course, no matter how late we wake up in the morning, Dan still does his soon-to-be husband duty of making my breakfast while I get ready for work and packing it up in my to-go tupperware.

Personal 002

He’s been doing it for years and, to be quite honest, I’m not sure what exactly I would eat if he didn’t make it for me.  Lame, yes.  But he’s been doing it for so long it’s just a part of our morning routine.  That, and coffee.  Always, always coffee!

Personal 001

Hopefully the sun is still shining and the birds are still chirping come 5:00 p.m. so Dan and I can enjoy another after work walk on the path.

Here’s hoping the rain/storm from last night stays far far away.  Or at least far away until I’m cozied up on my couch in sweatpants.

Leave a Reply

